Skip to content
February 28, 2014 / umbcdawgblog

Last Races of the Season

By Erika Ronning

The swimming and diving season has almost come to a close.  With only ECAC’s and hopefully NCAA’s for swimming, and Zones for diving the season is rapidly ending.  This past weekend the men’s swimming and diving team made the trip down to Tennessee to compete in the CCSA Championships.  The team finished second overall, but there were many outstanding swims and records broken.

Two weeks ago the women’s swimming and diving competed at the America East Championships.  The team also finished second breaking pool and team records along the way.

1653633_590453341041943_1764921997_n

This photo was taken at the America East Championships Senior Ceremony 
(left to right: Tadena, Ronning, Pavelkova, Hallberg, Dean)

I have been a swammer, which is someone who swam but no longer swims, for almost two weeks now and it has been great.  After 14 years of constantly being in a pool, my career is finally over.  Although my career did not end the way I would have liked it to, I can’t complain given the circumstances of this year.  My one pride is still being able to split a high 22 on the medley relay.

When not participating in a Division I sport, your life opens up to so many possibilities.  The amount of time and energy you gain is amazing.  However it is now up to myself to get motivated to stay in shape.

I have now worked two games for my internship, taking action photos for both a men’s basketball and lacrosse game.  The experiences were really awesome.  I was able stand right next to the action and do what I love, photography.  I am excited to be able to attend more games and be able to contribute to the UMBC Athletic Communications and Marketing department.

This weekend a group of men and women are swimming at Navy in the ECAC Championships.  Check out the UMBC Athletics website for updates on those swimming in ECAC’s and stay turned to the Dawg Blog for more entries about UMBC athletics!

Leave a Reply

