Skip to content
October 3, 2013 / umbcdawgblog

Returning From Injury

By: Shane Vlasic

It has been almost six months since my MRI showed that I had a torn labrum in my right shoulder and what a long six months it has been. After I found out it was torn, I sought out multiple opinions. The first doctor I saw suggested surgery, which would put me out eight months. After that I went and got a second opinion from Dr. Timothy Johnson, who was the Baltimore Orioles’ team doctor. He told me that surgery was not needed, and that I just needed to rehabilitate the shoulder. I went with the rehab option and have been trying to get my shoulder healthy ever since. Most kids on our team got to spend their summer playing baseball, while I was stuck at home working and going to physical therapy three times a week- not exactly how I wanted to spend my summer.

Vlasic12Side

Although physical therapy wasn’t the most fun thing in the world, I was lucky to get to work with Dr. Marc Meadows who really helped me through the process.  Most of the stuff he had me doing was strengthening my shoulder, but also had me working on my core strength and flexibility. He told me that part of the reason I tore my labrum was because my flexibility was not good, which was putting all the stress on my shoulder when I pitch.

After about two months of physical therapy, I was finally able to throw again on July 15th.  Although it was only 45 feet, it felt great to throw the baseball. I started throwing further and further, and my arm was feeling stronger. Most importantly, it was the first time in a while that I was throwing without pain. By the end of the summer, I was able to throw up to 200 feet. I cannot remember the last time I threw 200 feet without any pain.

Since I have been back at school, my arm has felt much better.  I am throwing bullpens every week and get to face hitters for the first time in over six months. My shoulder has been sore a little here and there, but overall, I feel much healthier than last year. I know the spring season is over five months away but I cannot wait to get started.

Leave a Reply

