Skip to content
September 20, 2013 / umbcdawgblog

Our Year

By: Shane Vlasic

My name is Shane Vlasic and I am currently a pitcher on the UMBC baseball team.  I am a media and communications studies major and earning minors in American studies and entrepreneurship. I am an Ashburn, Va. native, and am currently doing my internship within UMBC’s Athletic Communication Department. As of now, I am mainly working with the men’s soccer team and the women’s cross country team. Once basketball season starts, I will be helping out with those games also. I do things such as tweet at games, put together highlight clips, and update the website. I am getting a lot of experience and could not be happier working in the athletic department.

VlasicShaneClose2

As our fall season gets underway, our players and coaches could not be more excited to get started.  After a tough couple weeks of conditioning, lifting, and skill work, we are finally getting into full team practice. This is where we separate ourselves from the rest of the teams in our conference. Although we have five freshmen joining our team, I still see us as a very experienced team, which helps out tremendously. Last year we had a lot of new guys, so we spent a lot of time in practice learning new things. This year, we have so many returners that we are taking the things we learned last year and perfecting them. We have four games scheduled this fall against outside competition, and are competing in inter-squad scrimmages every weekend. The fall is grind, but we are getting better every day.

Personally, this season is going to be a very important season for m since. I am coming back from a shoulder injury that I suffered after sophomore year. Since the injury, I have been doing everything I can to make sure that when spring season starts, I am able to pitch and help this team reach the America East championship.  After a spring, and summer full of rehab, (which is not fun) I am finally starting to throw off the mound again. Although it is not at 100 percent, it still feels good to be throwing pain-free. If everything goes to plan, I should be able to compete this spring.

From my freshman year to my senior year, I have watched not only this team, but also this pitching staff make major improvements. We are returning every pitcher from last year, and adding five guys that did not throw last year.  We made improvements, but are still not satisfied until we get that conference championship trophy. Right now, we have a group of 15 on the pitching staff that we know we can count on.

Things are looking up for baseball team, and I feel honored to be a part of this transformation.  We have a team full of guys that know that we can win an America East Championship this year.

Leave a Reply

