Skip to content
March 28, 2013 / umbcdawgblog

A Surgical Spring Break

By: Emily Witsaman

This past week on the Monday of spring break I was relieved to finally have “Tommy John” surgery. What a great way to spend spring break, right? My mom drove down from Ohio on Sunday night with my dog, Louie, to help take care of me for the week. I had my surgery in Baltimore at Union Memorial Hospital.

The morning of my surgery, I had to wake up at 4:45 a.m. to be at the hospital by 6 a.m. The surgery took about two hours and recovery afterwards lasted another three hours. Immediately after, I was put into a plaster splint with my elbow bent at 90 degrees and received a sling for support. I don’t remember much after waking up in recovery, other than my wrist hurting really bad from where they took the tendon.

photo (4)

The rest of the week, up until Thursday, consisted of my dog and me lying on the couch at my house at school watching endless amounts of TV shows and movies. My mom was constantly helping me with just about everything, from eating and drinking, to doing my hair. I am very thankful she was able to be here to help take care of me during the recovery and was able to bring one of our dogs along.

At the end of the week, I drove back to Ohio with my mom for the weekend before classes resumed. While at home, I was able to attend my younger brother Ian’s black belt ceremony for taekwondo. Because he was dragged to my volleyball tournaments growing up, I felt it would be nice  to attend this big event for him. I enjoyed spending time with my Dad and other dog Snickers, as well. I flew back to Baltimore from Cleveland on Sunday and immediately worked a UMBC baseball game.

The Tuesday following spring break, I was put into a bionic-looking brace that I have to wear for the next six weeks. The doctor is optimistic about the surgery and we are hoping that my recovery will only be six months, so I am able to return for the volleyball season in September.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Brenda Witsaman / Apr 5 2013 10:45 pm

    Glad to have been there for you Emily! Heal quickly so you make it back for your Senior season!

Leave a Reply

